Sausage Spinach Stuffed Mushrooms

Oh my goodness it’s already APRIL!?!? What the hell…where did March go? We got a tiny taste of spring and after a few gorgeous, sunny days in Vancouver, it’s (of course) raining again :( booooo! At least it gives me a bit more motivation to stay inside and study for finals/write my two massive papers that I haven’t started and are due in less than a week. Eeeeeeeek stress times ten right now!

Doesn’t stop me from making delicious healthy dinners though. I actually made this stuffed mushroom dish about a week ago for my mum and I. I gotta say…it was pretty fantastic. Paired with a yummy salad, we had the perfect meal :) And since I didn’t finish mine, leftovers for lunch the next day was great!

The inspiration for this recipe came from the Practical Paleo cookbook. Such an amazing book full of great recipes.  I highly recommend it! Especially if you’re a meat lover ;)

IMG_2021Makes 4 mushrooms        Prep Time – 20 minutes        Cooking Time – 30 minutes

Ingredients

  1. 4 portobello mushrooms
  2. 1 tbsp coconut oil
  3. 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  4. 2 cloves garlic
  5. 1 bell pepper, chopped
  6. 2 large sausages
  7. 2 cups spinach or kale, chopped
  8. 1 tsp chipotle powder
  9. 1/8 tsp chili powder
  10. 1/2 tsp cumin
  11. pinch of salt and pepper

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Clean the mushrooms, remove the stems and some of the gills, and place face down on a baking sheet. Pop in the oven for 10 minutes.
  3. While the mushrooms are in the oven, you can start to make your filling. In a pan over medium heat, sauté the onions and garlic in the coconut oil until they are clear and soft.
  4. Take the sausage out of the casing and add to the pan. I just cut lengthwise down the sausage, then squeeze out the meatiness. Also add in all your spices now. Cook for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally until the meat is almost cooked through.
  5. Throw in the bell pepper and cook for another couple minutes.
  6. Next, add in the spinach and stir around until it’s wilted.
  7. Now you’re ready to assemble. Spoon the mixture into the mushrooms and place them back on the baking sheet. Pop them back into the oven and cook for about 15 minutes. Enjoy!!

 

What do you think?